Craving Fall’s Bounty

I’ve been craving fall produce in a really bad way…is it because it’s been getting cold here, or is it because I grew 3 big butternut squash and I couldn’t wait to devour them??? Hmmm…tough call.

I’ve been trying a couple different recipes. I have been determined to bake with the squash, as it is something I have never done (and been somewhat leary about).

Adapted from Oh She Glow’s Apple Streudel in a Jar…and made gluten-free and sugar-free…

1/2 cup Sorghum Flour
1/4 C arrowroot flour
1 T guar gum
1/8 cup Agave Nectar
1/4 C unsweetened applesauce
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tbsp ground flax seed
2 tbsp water
1/4 cup butternut squash, pureed
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup rice milk
1/8 cup coconut oil, melted

This was DELICIOUS! It didn’t rise as much as it probably ‘should’ have, but tasted divine!! I also made only 2 mason jar’s worth…maybe my serving size was off, but I couldn’t stop eating it!

Next I tried…

Pumpkin Spice Hippiecakes, adapted from Pursuit of Hippieness
I made these twice using roasted butternut squash puree instead of pumpkin puree and rice milk instead of almond milk. I reduced the amount of dates each time as it was a bit too sweet for me. The butternut squash added so much sweetness that I didn’t find I needed much more. I also don’t have so much of a sweet tooth, and so 6-7 medjool dates was enough for me!

My thoughts…YOU HAVE TO MAKE THIS…you will NOT be disappointed!

We also went apple picking a couple weeks back, and I came home with 20 pounds of apples to use in my kitchen experiments!! I made a few batches of applesauce, apple butter, apple pie, apple galette, and apple muffins (and I STILL have apples to spare!!).

This is my favourite recipe thus far….I had frozen cranberries awaiting the perfect recipe, and this one did not disappoint. I was also extremely pleased with the GF flour mix in this recipe. Not only did the muffins rise beautifully, but the batter was moist and tasted great. I was so happy I actually made two batches and froze a bunch for future snackage.

Okay, without future adieu…

Gluten-free, Vegan, Homemade Applesauce, Cranberry, Spice Muffins (aka Four Comma Spice Muffins)

adapted from Affairs of Living

Based on Kim’s Sorghum-Millet GF Flour Mix Recipe, I used:

100 grams Sorghum Flour
75 grams millet flour
37 1/2 grams  Brown Rice Flour (instead of White Rice Flour)
37 1/2 grams arrowroot flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
a pinch of ground cloves
2 2/3 c unsweetened, homemade, chunky applesauce
1/2 teaspoon liquid Stevia
1/2 cup safflower oil
1 tablespoon gluten-free vanilla extract
1 tablespoons light Agave Nectar
1 1/2 cups frozen cranberries

I couldn’t stop eating the batter, or the muffins…I had to package them up and toss them into the freezer to stop…SO good!!

They are a true taste of fall and wholesome goodness! I hope you try them.

What else have I been up to?

I completed my summer at the farmer’s market, and had a wonderful time.

I’ve had quite a few more successes, and failures, in the kitchen lately…mushroom risotto that literally got international acclaim, an apple pie that did not make the ‘cut,’ and much more.

And, my brussel sprouts are almost ready to be picked from the garden…I can’t wait to roast them!

More to come…including my trial of Butternut Squash Mac & Cheeze…

~ kaia ~

4 responses to “Craving Fall’s Bounty

Leave a Reply

