Eco-Chic and Eco-Yummy Finds for a Cause

Thanks for coming back to visit. I’ve been a bit of a hermit lately, and in part its because I have been struggling with my health – since January I’ve had 4 spells of laryngitis, and my IBS flareups are more frequent and severe than they have been in quite some time. My body has been in fight mode and I’ve just been exceptionally run down. I think its partly because I’ve pushed myself with a number of efforts, however, I’ve been seeking some answers about some of the other potential causes.

Some ideas that have been tossed into the mix are Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), infection, low iron, thyroid dysfunction, and from a Chinese Traditional Medicine perspective: liver distress(1 and 2). All I know, is that I haven’t been myself for a while, and my normal activities have taken to the back burner.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while though…

When I first conceived of my business, I wanted to make sure that whatever I do, service, and sell, it falls within a vision of environmental/sustainable/ecological, and organic and local where possible. And, more than the feature of items that fit these categories, I wanted to provide a forum for people and companies that give back as well.

With kaia, I have put 10% of all my sales towards my upcoming WEWC walk. In the future, I will look to give back to environmental and ecological causes, research projects, restoration efforts, and outreach programs.

I want to use kaiainbalance as a space to share all these Eco-Chic and Eco-Yummy Finds with you.

Now…why chic and why yummy you may ask??

yum·my  (ym) (source)

adj. yum·mi·er, yum·mi·est Slang
1. Very pleasing to the taste or smell; delicious. See Synonyms at delicious.
2. Delightful; delicious.

yummy [ˈjʌmɪ] Slang

interj

(Cookery) Also yum-yum an exclamation indicating pleasure or delight, as in anticipation of delicious food
adj -mier, -miest delicious, delightful, or attractive
AND

chic  (shk)

adj. chic·er, chic·est

1. Conforming to the current fashion; stylish: chic clothes; a chic boutique.
2. Adopting or setting current fashions and styles; sophisticated: chic, well-dressed young executives. See Synonyms at fashionable.

n.

1. The quality or state of being stylish; fashionableness.
2. Sophistication in dress and manner; elegance.
(esp of fashionable clothes, women, etc.) stylish or elegant

nstylishness, esp in dress; modishness; fashionable good taste

[from French, of uncertain origin]
chicly adv.
chicness n.
Now, I got these samples in the mail…and I was so excited to be able to share not only the products, because they are the epitome of chicness and are the yummiest straws I’ve ever seen, but because of the socially conscious and environmentally-aware mission behind them.

GlassDharma

I received a complimentary sample of GlassDharma; however, I received no compensation for trying out this product, and the views I have expressed in this post are my own.

So first is the eye-candy…



Are they gorgeous?

Most importantly, they serve a really notable purpose as an alternative to plastic, disposable, straws.

I asked David Leonhardt, owner and founder of Glass Dharma, to tell me a bit more about the products and the conception of his company, and this is what he had to say.

Where did the idea for glass straws come from?
David noticed glass drinking straws in a glass shop he was working in years ago.  They caught his eye as a marketable item that were useful and beautiful and would be a partial solution to certain environmental issues on our planet.

What does GlassDharma mean, and how does this represent what the company stands for?
Dharma is a calling to one’s true purpose for a higher conduct of living.

Sidenote: Dharma, meaning to uphold or sustain, is a central concept in Indian philosophy and traditions and is refers to an idea in religious and legal texts that inspire the divinely instituted natural order of things. It refers to the Law or Natural Law. Read more about this here or here.

Many companies start with a rooted purpose and vision, what is it for GlassDharma?
David saw that Glass Straws could become a teaching tool, an example of how reusable items that replace single use plastics can save our oceans and landfills from the mounting plastic trash that never really breaks down.  Along with being durable and reusable, GlassDharma Glass straws add beauty and style to beverage sipping.

Sidenote: I agree!! Look at those beauties!

What can a customer expect when buying a GlassDharma straw?
Customers that purchase GlassDharma Glass straws will know that the product has a lifetime guarantee to meet all areas of customer satisfaction. Customer service is at the forefront of company policies.

How important is it to donate to and to support environmental projects and programs? What are some of the projects that the company has assisted?

GlassDharma continues efforts to support environmental causes including an annual Earth Day Free Straw Giveaway.  603 letters to restaurants form their customers asking them to find ways to reduce trash were generated by the Earth Day 2011 Free Glass Straw project.

Sidenote: Read some of the entries on their blog.

GlassDharma also has a fundraising program. Where did this idea come from and what types of fundraising efforts has the company supported?

GlassDharma supports many organizations in different ways by donating funds and products to different causes. David created the fundraising page as one more vehicle to “give back” to organizations and causes that promote improving our quality of living and sustaining our future.

What sets GlassDharma apart from other glass straw manufacturers?

GlassDharma implements a special annealing formula to our borosilicate glass straws that is unique to other manufacturers. David’s extensively researched method ensures the most durable glass straw on the market.  The GlassDharma guarantee offers replacement for returned broken straws while many other companies incur special fees for this type of process. See how they are different here.

I think they are definitely a company to watch and support. Thank you for your inspired and beautiful products, messaging, and community support!!

What do you think? Which straw would you use, or would you? Do you think glass straws are a good alternative to plastic ones?

~ kaia ~

Leave a Reply

