Saladgawker

It’s been really nice and warm the last few days, and it’s also been a salad frenzy at our house…

In fact, the bf who has always been all about meat and starch (potatoes, pasta…) has been requesting salads!!

I know…right?!

But, really, I’m getting myself ‘warmed’ up for when my garden goodies are ready for the picking.  So many flowers blossoming, and I had to put in the tomato cages, supports for the cucumbers, put in some more seeds (since I am trying to stagger my plantings, e.g. dill, which only produces for a short time) and watered, watered, watered this weekend (and this morning!). It was delightful being out among my babies, and they have been like super plants; the grown on them is quite extraordinary. Day to day there are HUGE changes in their size – likely the large rainfalls and sun spurts we’ve been experiencing. I will show new pics soon…

Back to the salads… 😉

hers: Vegan Cobb Salad

his: Cobb Salad

and then this one:

Spring Pasta – Asparagus Quinoa Pasta with Mustard Vinaigrette


I cooked up some of Maria’s Quinoa Pasta with…this lovely tangy dressing…

inspired from Vegan Italian Dressing (and by default from Darlene Summers at Recipezaar.com)

1/2 cup olive oil

1/6 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp dried oregano leaves, crushed

1/4 tsp dry mustard

2 garlic clove, minced

1. Blend all ingredients.

2. Dress pasta salad (or roasted veggies, etc).

3. Sprinkle oregano on top!

All I can say, is YUM!!! I really can’t even describe how scrumptious this was…and, I want some more…NOW!

The bf didn’t see me make this, and didn’t see me eat my dinner; I had it all ready in a bowl when he got home for his late dinner. He then took the leftovers for lunch the next day, and when he got home that day we were discussing it and he didn’t realize it wasn’t wheat pasta!! I’m telling you…it was THAT good!

Tell me you aren’t drooling, just a bit…

These are only the salads I managed to capture on film before they were devoured…many more salads were harmed in the process! 😉

Other drool worthy items…

Spring Salad – Asparagus Quinoa Pasta Salad with Mustard Vinaigrette

Inspired by the recipe found here, but made without cheese, with 2 cloves of garlic, and no lemon (I actually just forgot this). It was still divine!!!

Chive Oil

from the garden turned into…

My chives are growing WILD….to try to keep some of them under control I combined Chive flowers + Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I figured I can use this to flavour a variety of dishes.

(BTW, I did add more EVOO to submerse all the flowers)

Cinnamon Sugar Donut/Doughnut Muffins

Recipe here.

I made two with a special jam surprise, like here.

This was the bf’s mid-bite photo opp!

Honey Beer Bread

I saw the recipe here, and there just happened to be one a lonesome beer in the fridge calling out to be made into this bread. Plus, the bf LOVES grilled cheese sandwiches, and so, I knew I had to make this for him.

This was before going into the oven:

and…after:

The grilled cheese action:

I sauteed shallots, and used cheddar and havarti cheese to make this. He gobbed it up and commented that it was really filling.

He took the bread with cold cuts to work today, and said his sandwich was divine.

Yesterday, we also had a lovely BBQ dinner with the bf’s family. I made a spring pea soup (vegan, but garnished with sour cream and mint from my garden for the dairy-lovers).

P.S. I used vegetable broth!

He BBQ’d massive steaks, portabello mushrooms (recipe here), and I had him BBQ sweet potato rounds as well. I made up some homemade tzatziki-like cucumber dip (with homegrown dill and sans green pepper) for them to dip their steak and potatoes in, and toasted up some garlic bread for them. They gobbled up every last bite!!

WHEW…lots of cooking this weekend, and I loved every minute of it!

I’ve also been adventuring with my Passport to Prana pass…

My first P2P visit was to Moksha Yoga Pickering – the sister location to the studio I work at.

I had taken at  this Yin class at my studio, and the substitute teacher regularly teaches at MYP, and after LOVING her class (if you see on my Yoga & Motion page – the BEST class possibly in my yoga career) I went to visit her for a 2nd class.

My review:

The studio is very clean, modern, and yet youthful. It doesn’t have the stereotypical ‘zen’ look, yet is minimal and ‘light.’ With two practice rooms there are numerous classes to choose from. And the Yin teacher, like I said – she takes her time with her cues, carefully instructing on not only anatomical tips to get the most from a pose and deepen the release into a pose, but she also softens you mind with fact-filled stories and motivational insights. What a phenomenal class!!

My second P2P trip was to East Village Yoga.

I opted for a Pilates class. I used to take Pilates when I was in uni (my undergrad) and really enjoyed the core strengthening and spine lengthening focus.

My thoughts:

This class was no exception, AND, the teacher (who was lovely, upbeat and personal…she used my names numerous times even while it was my first time and there were a number of people in the class) used numerous props. This was something I never experienced in other classes. She used the large balls, squishable smaller balls (something I’ve used in teaching my yoga classes, but not ever in Pilates), Thera bands, and resistance bands!! Wild…but…let me tell you something…I WAS SORE THE NEXT DAY!!

The studio, while really teeny, was really inviting, smartly laid out, and the teacher and other students were really, really warm, comical, and a pleasure to practice with. It felt like a social gathering while being worked really hard.

I will definitely be looking to make it back for another class. Plus, they have a Pilates reformer, which I’ve been dying to try.

I also can’t wait to check out the next studio!

I have my special product review coming up…next time…for sure. Have a great night!

~ kaia ~

Leave a Reply

