The Mixing Bowl

I know it’s been a few days since I’ve posted. I”ve been busy, and, I’m not sure why, but I”ve also been having some trouble uploading photos.

What have I been up to, you might ask? A WHOLE LOT!! It’s funny how sometimes life just flies by, taking you for a ride…it’s been busy, but, I’ve been so happy running around.

I have been taking quite a few yoga classes, including one at a new studio as part of my Passport to Prana pass. If you look back at my dreams for kaia in 2011, one of my dreams was to visit the studios associated with P2P and not only enrich my yoga practice, but ALSO expand my geographic knowledge of Toronto and area, push myself out of my comfort zone by visiting new places, AND meeting new people as I did just this past week! It really is an exciting add-venture in my life…and it is certainly adding venture to my life!! 🙂

I must say through this I’ve already met a Yin teacher, who has only been teaching for about a year, and who is the BEST TEACHER I HAVE EVER HAD!! That is truly saying a lot considering the number of teachers I have experienced in the last 11 years, but her class was phenomenal!! I don’t say things like that lightly, and if this was the first of many new teachers to broaden and enrich my experience of yoga in Toronto, I’m really looking forward to what’s to come. The truth is, each class good or bad, will be a good addition to my yoga repertoire, it just makes it so much of a wonderful experience when you really connect with a teacher’s style.

Anyone had a teacher that just said the right things when you needed to hear them or add cues/tips/thoughts that just fit the moment? I’d love to hear about your yoga gurus and inspirational teachers…

kaia went to market two more times…I can’t even tell you how much I love being at the farmer’s market each week. My friend stopped by to visit me and commented on how I seem to glow when I’m there. I have to say, I feel like I glow. It just seems to fit where I want to be right now. I’m so happy I have the opportunity to be there, and people are really responding well to the various gluten-free, local, and organic products.

I am also looking at setting up a website…stay tuned for more on this…

I’ve been also been super busy testing a quite a few recipes, both for my tummy, the bf’s tummy,  and for our bodies…but not all of them make it on the blog. I never realized how much time and thought goes into each post…

So…here’s the first

kaia’s Mixing Bowl Round-Up

 

 

For the bf…

Cinnamon Bubble Buns

I followed this recipe…and got RAVE reviews from the tasters. I have add the recipe to my roster and will have to make them again, or so I’m told! ;P

Tomato Tea

The bf suffers from really bad seasonal allergies. He gets bad sinus congestion, sneezing, runny eyes and finds little relief except from over the counter allergy remedies…until now. I’ve been trying to get him on the bandwagon of some natural remedies, including apple cider vinegar and wildflower honey, so that he doesn’t have to rely on the pharmaceutical remedies. One evening his symptoms were so bad, and he needed some relief for his congestion which spread into his ears. The pressure was so intense and he was in excruciating pain. I quickly searched online and found this site. I scrounged up the ingredient for the Tomato Tea, however, I didn’t have tomato juice and so, just threw a full tomato into my Vitamix.

I couldn’t believe it, but within 15 mins he was feeling MUCH better!! He also didn’t mind the taste of the ‘tea,’ and drank every last drop of it..next time I have congestion, I’ll be trying it too.

Chocolate Chip Bean Cookies

That’s right…chocolate chip + bean flour cookies! One of the potential kaia products is this packaged bean flour mix from Full of Beans. This company is local – the beans are grown in Mitchell, Ontario and they products are sold out of Bornholm, Ontario. Looking to find gluten-free foods they could trust to feed their son, who was suffering from eczema, Ben and Kim Dietrich decided to produce their own products…and Full of Beans was born.

I decided to.make them two ways:

1) Non-vegan

2) Vegan

I wonder if you can tell which one is which in the above photo…

Would you believe that the stereotypical cookie-looking one is the vegan one, while the non-vegan one baked up flat like a pancake?!

I had a work potluck and I decided to do a bit of comparison between the two methods of baking. The bf, his family, and my colleagues were the judges. The verdict…it was an even split between the endorsements of each type. I was really surprised!!

I tried the vegan ones, and they were pretty good, my only qualm is that I cannot handle sugar, and this mix comes with the sugar already pre-mixed with the rest of the ingredients. So, while everyone loved them, I am still trying to find a mix that does not contain the sugar, etc, so that I can add my own sweetening agents as I wish…I think I might have found one which is also locally produced….I will keep you updated…

Ginseng Tincture

So…I don’t drink…but…

I heard a tale about ginseng and vodka and how one can make a Ginseng Tincture – more about it here. Ginseng has been used for many thousands of years to reduce the effects of stress, boost energy, enhance memory, stimulate the immune system and reduce aging. Who can argue with increasing my intake of a powerhouse herb like that?

After over a month of brewing this was my final product before I strained the ginseng out of the final tincture:

And a close-up of the ginseng…

One tablespoon a day and I will be less stressed and less forgetful…if I remember to take the tablespoon of the tincture…teehee!! 😛

And the last of the recipes in my Mixing Bowl Round-Up

Peppermint Lip Balm

I had an empty lip balm ‘ball’ attached to my keychain, which I’ve been looking forward to filling with a homemade lip balm.

I followed this recipe, but cut it in half. I also just added 6 drops of Peppermint Essence, keeping the scent really simple.

I LOVE THIS – it’s so smooth and stays on for hours. My lips have been so soft since I started using this.

The bf and a couple friends loved it too!!

Definitely a keeper!

The keychain ‘ball’ is so handy…it says ‘twist & pout’ in case you were wondering…so cute!

I really recommend you try this easy recipe. It is wonderful and so much cheaper than store bought varieties.

Tomorrow…pics of my garden!!! I can’t wait to share with you how it’s turned out!

~ kaia ~

4 responses to “The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

