First and not last!

Matzah is a staple for Passover. It is meant to represent the bread made by the Jewish people as they crossed the Negev desert for 40 years in flight from slavery in Egypt.

(Source)

Needless to say, I was on a mission not to have a Passover dinner and then have a sick stomach from the gluten/egg variations of matzah. I decided I was going to make my own!

I spent a lot of time looking for gluten-free alternatives for Passover matzah. I even researched online to see what was considered kosher for passover, and what might be available for me to purchase online. I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into when I went about looking for recipes, figuring out which grains were acceptable, etc. I also wanted to stay true to the idea of matzahs, i.e., maintain a pure recipe of a grain plus water.

I learned that matzah must come from one of five specific grains: wheat, spelt, rye, barley, and oats. The first four are all gluten grains. These grains are forbidden during the eight days of Passover unless they are in matzoh form.

To my surprise, I found some oat matzahs for purchase online…but they were $23-$40 a box. That’ right, for a box of like 10 matzahs, so $2.30-$4 per matzah! Can you believe that?

When I came across this recipe, I knew it was a winner.

I followed the recipe to the T, and even got in under the 18 mins time restriction. The only thing I didn’t know was that the ‘dough’ that I was to form wasn’t really dough at all. I had to improvise when it came to cutting the dough, rolling it into balls, etc…I ended up spreading it on a cookie sheet with a spatula (and my fingers), and keeping my fingers crossed that they would turn out as crackers.

AND THEY DID!!

I used my improv lightbox to take this picture. I cleared out a shelf in my pantry and took some pictures!

Not a lightbox-pantry pic, can you tell the difference?

They were perfect when they came out of the oven and cooled. They harden as they cool and were ideal replacements for the gluten matzah options. The bf liked them so much he said we should make them even when it’s not Passover!

I don’t know how often I will make them, but I do know that they will be my new staple every Passover. And, I am so pleased that this year was the first in many that I did not have pain after a seder. For that I am thankful!

The other staple, Charoset, found it’s way into my breakfast yesterday…I’ll post this yummy recipe later today.

~ kaia ~

2 responses to “First and not last!

  1. Wow, yours actually look better than mine. I use a rolling pin but you have to get the water ratio perfectly right (which means doing it by feel, not measurement).

    • I can imagine! I thought I was doing it wrong and took a chance still putting it in the oven. I was so pleased with the result though.
      Thanks for the recipe, Cyndi!

Leave a Reply

