(Omnivore) Recipe Round-Up

Living with two glutinous omnivores means making foods I don’t eat.

It puts me out of my comfort zone since I don’t taste test what I’m making, and so far I am pleased to say that the bf and MR haven’t complained!!

I’m rounding together a few meaty recipes I made for the bf over the last few weeks…if you are in the same ‘home’ (I was going to say boat, hmm…I wish we lived on a boat in the tropics!!) as me, then these might be a couple recipes for you to make for your loved ones.

Homemade BBQ Sauce

1/4  C Braggs Soy Sauce

1 T Ketchup

1 T Worcestershire Sauce

1 T liquid smoke/hickory

1 t garlic powder

1 t onion powder

Pinch of pepper

 

Note: While I used this for the bf’s jerky,  you can use this recipe for any veggies, e.g. sweet potatoes, carrots, zucchini, tempeh, eggplant, etc for awesome vegetable chips. You might also try it in a cracker recipe, e.g. Onion Bread for a BBQ flavour. Or use it to flavour BBQ’ed veggies or veggie burgers.

So many different options!!


Beef Jerky

Using the Homemade BBQ sauce, marinate thin slices of beef for 2-4 hours in the fridge. Use enough sauce to have the beef swimming in sauce.

Place on dehydrator sheets, and dehydrate for 8-10 hrs until completely dry.

Watch that they are dry and flexible, not dry and brittle.

 


Garlic Curls

Adapted from A Little Bit of Everything

 

1 1/2 cup lukewarm milk
1 package dry yeast
2 eggs
5 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup Earth Balance butter
roasted garlic cloves
mixture of dry herbs
Mix together 1 1/2 cups lukewarm milk and 1 package dry yeast.
Add 2 eggs lightly beaten.
Mix and add 5 cups all purpose flour.The dough will be slightly sticky, don’t be tempted to add more flour.
With greased hands shape the dough in a ball and place it into a oiled bowl. Leave to rest at room temperature until doubled.
Meanwhile cream butter with some minced or creamed roasted garlic and herbs.
When the dough is risen roll it onto a greased surface and brush the garlic butter on top.
Roll it firmly from one side. To get a clear cut I use a piece of thread or floss (that’s what I used)
Place the buns on a baking sheet and leave at room temperature for another 20-30 minutes or until almost doubled.
Preheat oven to 375F.
Bake the buns for 18-20 minutes or until golden.

Serve with chili (sausage chili shown here…I made a big batch of chili and added sausage to a portion of it for the bf!), soup, or as an appetizer with a lovely dip.

Leave a Reply

