Busy Bee…

(Source)

Can you believe that shiny yellow ‘rock candy’ portion is the nectar?? Isn’t it amazing what macro photography and high magnification images can capture?

(Source)

This image by Darlyne A. Murawski/Getty Images shows a bee visiting a lupine flower in the springtime. The orange wad of pollen in the bee’s pollen basket is from the flowers.

Can you tell I am eagerly awaiting the springtime blooms and the start of my gardening? This year I am expanding my little backgarden plot of cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, lettuce and herbs. I am looking to incorporate a few ‘new to my garden repertoire’ crops…I think some kale, fruits, and maybe some celery, carrots, and squashes might be in my near future.

I have been quite overwhelmed with work in the last couple weeks…and haven’t had a moment to think, sleep, or blog.

I suppose that’s what happens when you get what you ask for. If you’ve been keeping watch on my kaia in 2011 page, you can see I’ve been dreaming a lot these last few months, and in particular…

My #9.

Get a full-time job. I’ve been part-time (at a good job) for the last 2 1/2 years.

As of March 2011, I now work 6.5 days/week. Currently, it is one part-time job, and this leads to the next dream…

My #8.

Do 1 new activity every month.

March 2011 – I opened up a business!!

With one part-time consulting contract, this supplements my part-time work, and I have a few leads for more business…more on this to come.


My #6.

Take more yoga certifications

I just took finished my Yin Yoga Teacher Certification in March 2011. I also just challenged myself to 30 hours of yoga in 30 days, and ended up spending 48 mins each day devoted to my practice.


My #3 and #4.

Find a way to manage (/minimize) my IBS/Candida symptoms, and still enjoy eating!

&

Learn 1 new recipe per week, and try 1 new ingredient per month! I will be sharing these on my Recipes page.
I have certainly been busy in the kitchen, and I will do a post to update on a few recipes I ‘stirred up’ over the last couple weeks. A few of the ingredients I’ve been using are also things I’ve been looking at as ways to minimize my IBS symptoms, and I just picked up a new book to give me some insight into ways to increase my energy and heal my body…it’s called Healing with Whole Foods by Paul Pitchford, and I can’t wait to read some more.

My #7.

Laugh EVERY day.

As silly as this dream sounds…it’s something I took for granted in the last few years. As I’ve been more aware of the humour, positivity, and goodness around me, I feel like I am bringing more of it into my speech, my step, and my body…the therapeutic benefits of laughter is no secret. In fact, there are organizations that promote laughter as a means to heal…google it…it’s pretty amazing!

My #10.

Raise $2000 for the Weekend to End Women’s Cancers, and walk the 60km on Sept. 10-11, 2011 .

$300 as of March 29, 2011

This has been in my thoughts a lot lately. My ideas are in the works.

I’m looking to offer karma classes in my home. I’m going to invite my friends and family to come for yoga lessons for a small dana (donation, BTW this is my middle name!) and put the money towards my fundraising goal.

If you are in the Toronto area and are interested, leave a comment and I’ll be in touch.

I am also looking to put some of my business profits towards my goal. More on this to come.

Did you set goals/dreams for yourself this year? Have you checked in to see where you stand with them? I’d love to hear about it.

Wishing I could be doing this…

(Source)

Go check out this website…it will have you drifting off to sleep in no time.


~ kaia ~

Leave a Reply

