Power of the Sea

There have been 120 aftershocks, the wreckage is horrendous, and hundreds of people lost their lives in the earthquake and subsequent tsunami that hit Japan yesterday. The cascading effects of the initial 8.9 magnitude earthquake, which occurred 81 miles off the Japanese coast and triggered a 33 ft tsunami, is simply unreal…The flooding of the coastal cities is unbelieveable, and due to the tsunami, 10 of the 53 power plants in Japan have now been closed , and the loss of power to the water cooling system caused a subsequent explosion at the Daiichi nuclear facility in Fukushima. The radiation levels inside the plant is 1000 times greater than normal levels, the pressure is building inside, and there are fears of impending radiation leaks. They actually started using sea water to try to cool the facility.

It might seem odd to give respect to the sea, to give appreciation for the rich biodiversity, but I think its important to acknowledge the power of nature. As a researcher, I realize that the more we know about the Earth, the more we realize we know nothing at all.

Seaweed is a popular dietary component in Japan, and while I have tried a number of different kinds, including Nori, Arame, Kobe, etc., I have been meaning to try kelp noodles for some time. Seaweed is quite rampant; it grows very rapidly, spreads, and is a renewable food source, making it a smart environmental food choice.

I actually planned to try these noodles as part of my March Novel Ingredient series. It ended up being quite coincidental that yesterday, the day of the Japanese earthquake and tsunami, I tried them for the first time.

I opened up the bag and couldn’t stop snacking on them as I prepared my lunch.

I came up with recipe, with inspiration from the recipe on the back of the noodle bag.

Kelp Noodle Salad

Salad

1/2 C kelp noodles

a few snap peas

1 carrot, chopped into sticks

1 C spinach

other veggies, avocado, nuts, etc, as you wish…

 

Sauce

1 T Braggs Soy Sauce

1/2-1 t wasabi (depending how hot you like it, mine had a lot of ‘bite’)

a pinch of garlic powder

a pinch of ginger powder

 

I made a bed of spinach, piled on the noodles, and topped them with some carrot sticks and snap peas. I mixed the ingredients for the sauce, and drizzled it on the salad. I grabbed a fork and dug in…YUM!!!

 

Kelp is rich in macro- and micro-nutrients (check out The Gaia Research website for more details). It also supposedly helps improve intestinal flora, something which is really beneficial for me in dealing with my IBS. Its a food I can feel good about eating, and it’s super tasty too!

Hope you try it, and if you do, let me know what you think.

~ kaia in balance ~

Leave a Reply

