Starbucks as a Cupcake

My voice has almost returned…yay! I haven’t been able to talk much, but that hasn’t stopped my kitchen adventures.

The bf is in love with the Peppermint Mocha Frappuccinos at Starbucks!

I had found this recipe a while ago. It is for the non-gluten-free and non-vegan eaters. I was planning on making it for friends and family over the winter holidays, but I decided on a few others and I put this one aside for just the right occasion…

Valentines Day!


The bf went out yesterday morning, and upon his return, these were waiting for him…

Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes

I followed the recipe, found here, and although I didn’t make any changes to the recipe, there were a few lessons learned while making them.

1) I found a new respect for bakers of days past.

Anyone who whisks eggs into stiff peaks without a mixer need be applauded!! My arms were SORE and felt like they were going to fall off!!

2) Making red icing takes A LOT of red icing gel!!

I used an entire tube of red and still didn’t get the icing to turn red…I ended up with PINK as you can see.

3) I had bought a couple of squeeze tubes for icing a while back…and found that they were useless.

I ended up spreading the icing on the top of the cupcakes. A piping bag is definitely needed!!

4) I need to veganize and gluten-free-ize these babies.

In any event, the cupcakes were a success. I even took a whole bunch to the ‘in-laws’ and spread the Valentine cheer.

Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!!

~ kaia in balance ~

Leave a Reply

