The Beet Goes On…

I started getting a CSA box this past summer, and it was always a bit of a lottery in terms of what arrived each week. My culinary innovation has definitely been challenged and I’ve loved every minute of it.

So…when beets started taking up residence (quite regularly) in our fridge, I had to do a lot of research to figure out what I was going to do with them.

First of all, I got an appreciation for why beets are a great component of my diet. Studies have shown that beets have significant anti-cancer, detoxifying, and ant-inflammatory (specifically from the betanin pigments found in beets) properties as well as help the liver produce glutathione, a powerful natural antioxidant. They are full of fiber, iron, vitamin C, as well as excellent sources of folate, manganese, and potassium.

Then, I started my experiments. The only way I’ve ever had beets was boiled until soft and sprinkled with salt and pepper. Tasty, but I wanted to find some different recipes. I started with raw salads with shredded beets, carrots, lemon juice and a bit of agave, added them to mixed roasted vegetable recipes, and then…when I got a dehydrator as a gift, I found the perfect calling for the beets in my box…

BEET WRAPS!

I found the inspirational beet wrap recipe at What the Hell Does a Vegan Eat Anyway?, which, I think is so appropriately named. If you are a vegan and haven’t heard that question, then I am impressed!

I didn’t change a thing except that instead of using orange juice I squeezed the juice from oranges/tangerines and then threw in the fibrous membranes (i.e., just used the entire fruit!). I like the idea of having the extra fiber in the wraps, and I always love pulp!

Beet Wraps

adapted from What the Hell Does a Vegan Eat Anyway?
(makes approximately 8 crepes)

1/2 cup water
1/2 cup flax seeds

1 tsp. caraway seed
1/2 tsp. dill seed
1/2 tsp. celery seed
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. thyme
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 1/2 cups of beets, diced

1/2 cup oranges
1 tbs. olive oil
1 tsp. Braggs Soy Sauce

Mix the water and Flax together, let sit for 15 minutes.

Grind the spices together and add to the flax mixture.

Puree the beets and oranges. Add the other incredients and blend.

Dehydrate at 105F for 3-4 hours, flipping after 2 hours, until soft, pliable texture.

Load with a variety of vegetables and spreads as you wish.

Enjoy!

~ kaia in balance ~

Leave a Reply

