Sickie Eats

I went to the doctor yesterday, after 5 days of having a sore throat and after completely losing my voice all together. He confirmed that I have laryngitis and proceeded to let me know I’m the hoarsest person he’s seen in a long while. Oh, yay, isn’t that what everyone wants to hear??

The bf is loving the ‘peace and quiet’ at home, though! 😛 We’ve been talking via texting! Oh technology…

I have been eating my green monster frozen smoothies (green smoothies made with frozen fruits to thicken into ice cream consistency) for breakfast, and soups for dinner, and I was looking for an excuse to buy coconut ice cream, and well, this bout of laryngitis was just it.

I liked the minimal and wholesome ingredients.

INGREDIENTS: ORGANIC COCONUT MILK, ORGANIC AGAVE SYRUP, CHICORY ROOT EXTRACT, CAROB BEAN GUM, GUAR GUM, VANILLA EXTRACT, NATURAL FLAVOR, VANILLA BEAN SPECKS.

(taken direct from the Purely Decadent website)

 

These were my sickie lunch eats, and exactly what the doctor ordered to soothe my throat!

Orange Cocosicle

1 large scoop of Purely Decadent Coconut Milk ice cream

1 frozen orange, blended

 

Layer as you wish!

Mine had a layer of orange on the bottom, ice cream, and an orange top layer.

Any blended fruit would be great, I was simply looking to boost my vitamin C intake. I also garnished it with dehydrated persimmon slices.

 

&

 

Pom-Chia Cocosicle

This had three stages of preparation.

I took inspiration from this Pomegranate Chia Fresca recipe on Gluten-Free Cat.

I made some changes to the recipe, however, since I wanted a sauce consistency rather than a drink.

Pomegranate Juice

1 C pomegranate seeds

1/2 C filtered water

Blend until all seeds are pureed.

 

Pom-Chia Sauce

Add 4 T chia seeds to pomegranate juice

Add 1 T lemon juice

Mix. Let chill in fridge for 10-15 mins.

Then, layer Pom-Chia Sauce and Coconut ice cream as you please. Top with your favourite garnish, and enjoy!

 

Note: This Pom-Chia Sauce recipe makes quite a lot.

I froze the remaining sauce in ice cube tray to be used in future green monsters!

 

The Purely Decadent Coconut Ice Cream was quite the splurge, but it was exactly what I needed. Treat yourself, and you won’t be sorry!

~ kaia in balance ~

 

 

 

One response to “Sickie Eats

Leave a Reply

