S.I.A. and the last ‘kaia in 2011’ goal

I have not gone MIA…only SIA (sick in action). I will continue blogging regularly once this cold goes through me.

For now, a few updates…

First of all, Happy National Wear Pink Day, in support of The Shoppers Drug Mart® Weekend to End Women’s Cancers™ benefiting Princess Margaret Hospital. Even though I am not venturing out today, I am still wearing pink, and after a lot of thought, I have decided to register for the weekend walk…and then work on recruiting some friends and family to join me. In fact, that was what I was debating for my last ‘kaia in 2011‘ goals. And, I am looking to raise at least $2000. Whew – I can’t believe I’m writing this…makes it all the more real!

I haven’t been doing much exercise. I tried a little yoga yesterday, but really felt weak. I did 1 30 mins practice today, because my body is feeling better even though I can’t talk.

I tried my hand at making ‘cheeze’ again. I followed this recipe from Affairs of Living for the second time now, but added a little too much parsley this time. So, my cheeze is GREEN, and no, it’s not because it’s going bad! 🙂

I halved the recipe this time, because I found for one eater this made too much to eat within the recommended 3 days. I also didn’t add basil, only parsley, and didn’t adorn it with peppercorn, since I am not serving it to company.

It is scrumptious though, and so, be prepared to not be able to control how much of it you want to eat. It is really good with crackers (Mary’s crackers, GF and vegan), veggie sticks, and on veggie wraps (e.g. beet wraps, more about this in the next couple days).

Mary’s crackers are wonderful. They are certified organic and gluten-free. The owner, Mary, actually started the company due to her struggles with Celiac’s Disease. She is a member of the Organic Trade Association and the Celiac Sprue Association, and those designations are made present through the choices and ingredients in all her products. The company recently started producing cookies, and I haven’t tried them yet, but would like to!!

Oh, and if you are looking for them in Canada, you need to look for Mary’s Organic Crackers (not Mary’s Gone Crackers as they are known elsewhere!

Try them if you haven’t already…

And, now, back to some R&R, lemon water, and Manuka honey therapy.

~ kaia in balance ~

Leave a Reply

