Riley’s Beef

Wow is it ever cold today (-17deg C, but feels in the -20s)!

So, it’s not that kind of beef I’m talking about, as in “bone-to-pick,’ but beef that Riley was given to eat! 😉

Yep, last week I adapted this recipe, and I made him a beefy-beet-spirulina (belated-birthday) treat!

 

Riley’s Beefy Beet Spirulina Cookies

1 C brown rice flour

1/3 can of Wellness brand 100% beef

1/4 C finely grated beet

1 T spirulina powder

1/2 t olive oil

1/3-1/2 C hot water’

Mix the flour with the beet, then add remaining ingredients.

Drop tablespoon-size scoops onto a cookie sheet. Bake for 25 mins at 350 degrees.

 

And, let me tell you, the entire time I was mixing the ingredients, MR was underfoot. He also sat by the oven as the cookies were baking!!

He loves them, and I can rest assured he’s not going to lick or scratch incessantly because there is no gluten or other foods he is allergic to! With brown rice in place of the spelt flour, I avoided having any gluten in these cookies. I had some beets which were on their last “legs” and this was a perfect way to sneak in some veggies into his diet. Moreover, I think about how much these would have cost me buying it from a pet store, and I can’t believe how cheap and easy they are to make.

Riley waiting to devour his Beefy treat

MR, I hope you know how spoiled (and loved) you are!!

Next, up…the big reveal…

~ kaia in balance ~

Leave a Reply

