Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going…

I can now see that 2010 was my year of exploration…I started documenting that on livepuretoday but was overcome with fear and overwhelmed with all that I could read, write about, and experience. I needed time to come into my own, really explore what I wanted and where I was going, and take chances with creativity and see what came of it.

2010 was a year to firm up my ‘body in balance’ goals. It’s not to say I didn’t have moments of laziness, but I was quite consistent with my schedule.

Per week, I aimed for:

1 swim

1-2 yoga classes (either in studio or at home)

1 circuit/strength/kickboxing training

1-2 abs sessions, and

at least 1 walk/run per week beyond my walks with MR (our endearing name for our ‘Monster’ Riley, 2 year old Cockapoo). In particular, walks in nature with a few girlfriends was a highlight of this past year!

In 2010, I also focused on my health goals. As I described in my About section, I became a vegetarian (except for sushi, which I could never give up fully) in 1st year of university. During university, however, I struggled with terrible stomach pains and was often found curled in a ball unable to move. I couldn’t find the cause or the treatment to make it stop.

My life turned around over the last few years, once I was ‘diagnosed’ with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) and started investigating the alternatives to “normal” foods. Gluten, dairy, soy, sugar, eggs, and some nuts were found to be triggers of my symptoms. As a vegetarian, I was already restricted in my choices. With time, I feel like I have opened up more food options than I closed. Now, I eat whole foods that are dairy-free, gluten-free, egg-free, sugar-free, and (mostly) soy-free and nut-free (even while living with and cooking for two carnivores…my boyfriend and MR).

In 2010, I started livepuretoday to inspire me to think more about what I put into my body. I wanted my food to be “PURE”! Over the last year, I have loved creating new (and atypical) culinary creations and homemade cosmetics and crafts from my (mainly) local and organic CSA produces and the even fresher harvests from my luscious garden.

Homegrown/local grown, germinated, grown, and harvested in the most natural way, homemade, and made with love…nothing is better than that!

2010 creations included:

Lavender body scrub (with lavender from my garden)

Gluten free and vegan crusts, breads, and baked goods (still in search of the perfect recipes!)

Lots of green monsters (since 2008 when I started reading about these on Oh She Glows, I can’t get enough!!)

Dehydrated goodies (courtesy of my newest kitchen addition)

and,

a new recipe each week – both of the vegan and meatlover varieties (gotta please the bf!).

I spend countless hours in the kitchen and loved every second of it!

In 2010, I also continued with my conservation journey. My B.Sc. and M.Sc. were both in conservation and I try to live my life in awareness, appreciation, and respect of nature.

In 2011, with kaia in balance, I want my exploration of what it means to balance body and earth to focus on the environmental effects of my purchasing practices, my decisions, and all my actions.

I’ve been practicing yoga for the last 11 years, I have teacher training in Ashtanga Yoga, and have been doing an energy exchange at a local (eco-conscious) Moksha studio. I work a few hours a week and get free classes in exchange. It’s a pretty sweet deal!

When I’m in a yoga class and as I am going through the balance series, there are times I might falter, or sway, but putting mind over matter, I find the concentration and strength to stay balanced. In the times that I do fall out of balance, I find the motivation I need to set myself back in position and follow-through to find balance once again.

I see so many life lessons in my yoga practice, and 2011 is my year of establishing balance.  I am determined to live each moment in balance, to face and really allow myself to experience the feelings of being overwhelmed and/or fearful, and then, stabilize myself to do what I want to do.

I can’t wait to see what happens next.

~ kaia in balance ~

Leave a Reply

